Do not auto-invite Matrix bridge to all shared channels - #12
Conversation
|
I am not sure this does what the comment says. What I see in the mattermost code is that if we receive an event for a channel from a remote with |
@fmartingr My understanding is the bug reported has to do with the Matrix bridge showing up in all shared channels tooltips, even ones that were not shared with the bridge. Is that correct? |
Yes, it looks like it. Didn't set up a environment to reproduce it. Maybe it's just me not understanding why "AutoInvite" sets the bridge in all channels (or where it does so). |
|
@wiggin77 it was a shared channel, but I don't think it is anymore. Matt said:
I think this could be due to the issue where shared channels are not cleaned up when they are un-shared? |
It's both. This flag should be turned off for Matrix bridge. Remotes remaining after a channel is unshared is a separate issue. |
fmartingr
left a comment
There was a problem hiding this comment.
Preventively approving to discard a bug in a demo environment.
Summary
This PR fixes a bug where the Matrix bridge was being invited to all share channels that are created, and the Matrix bridge display name was shown in the tooltip for all shared channels.
The root cause is a flag used by
mattermost-plugin-msteams-syncwhich needed to be invited to all shared channels. The reason this issue has not been seen before is that the tooltip was implemented only a month ago - long after msteams-sync plugin was widely used.Ticket Link
NONE